A Letter To My Mother

img010 (2)

Dear Mom,

I have come to realize there are things I do not say enough to you that I should. I do not tell you enough how much I love you. I do not tell you enough how thankful I am for everything you do for me. Thank you for being my mom. Thank you for being my voice of reason. Thank you for sharing your opinions even when I do not want to hear them. Thank you for everything and so much more. I do not tell you enough that I am sorry. I am sorry for every time I have hurt your feelings. I am sorry for saying I did not like it when you would tell people we share a birthday. I tell everyone too. I am sorry for every time I have disappointed you and for the times that are sure to come. I am sorry for all those times when I would tell you I hated you, I did not mean it. I am sorry for wanting to be my own person and prove that I will not make the same mistakes. I am sorry I am always a source of worry for you. I am sorry for not being the daughter you wished I had been.

One thing I do not think I have ever told you is I am proud of you. I am proud to call you my mom. I am proud of all the hard decisions you have had to make when it came to raising my sisters and I. I am proud of you for loving me when I was not all that loveable. I am proud to tell people I share a birthday with you. I am proud that you have raised me to be the strong, independent, and caring person I am today. Mommy I love you to the moon and back and 20 times more. Thank you for being my mom.

Forever and Always!

-Jodie

2 thoughts on “A Letter To My Mother

  1. Caught up on some of your posts. If you can read on a plane, you’re doing alright. I take Dramamine and still get sick, especially if I’m not sitting by a window and facing forward at all times….I get sick on buses if I don’t sit on the front seat.
    I loved your tribute to your Mom. And what you said about your soldier. Keep on keeping on.
    Love from your Aunt

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

