My American Soldier

combat boots

So I was driving home from work the other day when a song I have heard one billion and one times came on the radio. For the very first time though this song made me cry like a baby and I’m not talking the cute crying. I’m talking about the ugly crying. The red face, tears everywhere and yes even snot. I apologize to anyone who saw me like this.

For the first time in the 12 years that this song has been out it finally touched my heart. Toby Keith’s “American Soldier” touched me in such a way that all I could do was think of my American soldier and cry. I cried tears of happiness, sorrow, and pride, but most importantly love.

The lyrics say, “Up and at ’em bright and early” all I could think about was when I visited him in July and having to wake him up at 5 a.m. to make sure he got to PT on time. “I can’t call in sick on Mondays when the weekend’s been to strong, I just work straight through the holidays, sometimes all night long”, I can’t believe that I spent all week complaining about the fact I was having to work all week and doing overtime. I realized how lucky I am that I get to see my family every week and how lucky I am that I get off work for all major holidays. I realized how much I take granted and how grafteful I am towards my soldier and others like him.

I cried because I know he’s counted up the cost and he knows the sacrifices. I cried because I know he would proudly take a stand. I cried because I miss him. It has been two weeks since I heard from him last.

My American soldier is the love of my life and my best friend and I will proudly stand behind him no matter what people say, what people tell me I should do or how many times people tell me it’s too hard to be with someone in the military and that I am crazy for being in a long distance relationship. The song made me think of the commitment he has made to our country and in turn the commitment I am making to him.

I may not know where or what he is doing all the time, but I do know that no matter what he has my back just like I have his. I may not get to hear him say it when I need it the most, but I know he loves me. I may not get to see him when I want, but I know he is doing what he is meant to do and I will see him soon. I know that I am one lucky and blessed girl to have such an incredible man in my life. I wouldn’t trade him for the world.

-Jodie

Leave a Reply

