The City Life Is Not For Me

alabamaWow, Chicago! What a crazy, scary and weird city you are. I may have only been in the city for four days, but I saw and experienced enough to last me a very long while. I really did enjoy my trip even if I didn’t get to see some of the things I would have liked to have seen. Now although I didn’t get to see everything on my list, it is very unlikely I will go back anytime in the near or very distant future.

Before I get ahead of myself let me start from the beginning. This was a business trip that I went on with my aunt. A trip that required me to fly on an actual airplane, I say actual because I have flown on many pretend airplanes over my 21 years of existence. This trip required me to fly on not one, not two, but four different planes. I was really nervous about flying for the first time not only for the fact that my life was depending on a man-made machine to get me from point a to point b all while being thousands of feet in the air, but for the fact that I get motion sick very easily and am prone to the occasionally vomiting.

Day one of flying: I must say I really appreciated the laugh I received from the man next to me when he found out it was my very first time flying. It really made me feel great! After being laughed at my aunt was able to reassure me after every bump that everything was going to be okay. Only after we got off that plane did she tell me that even for someone who has flown quite a bit like herself that flight was very very bumpy. The second flight of the day was a lot more enjoyable mainly because I knew what to expect and it wasn’t no where as bumpy as the first one and because I sat next to a gentleman with a very lovely English accent.

Day two of flying: Flying back I felt like a pro. I knew what to expect. I knew how to walk down the aisle without hitting a fellow passenger with my laptop case and how to stow away my carry on without any help. The first flight was a short one from Chicago to Detroit. The only downside to this flight was the fact it departed a little after 5 o’clock a.m., but being able to watch the sunrise above the clouds was absolutely breathtaking and totally worth the two hours of sleep I had the night before. I enjoyed watching the sunrise and re-reading one of my many favorite books. Now flight number two is where things got sketchy. Our flight got delayed an hour and only after we were already on the plane and after we had to abort a take off. Yes you read that correctly. We were on the plane going down the runway about to take off when the plane powered down and pulled to the side where we sat for a few minutes only to hear the pilot say we had to abort take off due to mechanical issues and that we were going back to the gate where they would try to fix the issue while we waited or they would move us to another plane. After an hour of waiting they told us they had fixed the issue and we were off again. For the rest of the flight I stayed busy sleeping or reading anything to keep my mind from thinking we were going to crash every time I felt a little bump. To reassure you all we did make it to our final destination without any further difficulties.

Keep in mind this was a business trip so I didn’t get to do as much sightseeing as I would have liked but at the end of each day we did manage to see some stuff. The first night we visited the Shedd Aquarium. How can you go wrong when visiting cute fish and sea creatures. We also visited the Sears Tower now called the Willis Tower and yes I even walked out on the Skydeck. We also ate some deep dish pizza of course. The second night it rained and considering we had to walk everywhere we went we stayed in. The third night we took a boat tour at sunset where we went out on the lake and saw the whole chicago skyline at night.

So far everything sounds great right? Well let me tell you it wasn’t all that great. The transportation is awful. The two forms of transportation we used were our feet and the train. Walking wasn’t all that bad you just have to have some really good shoes and be prepared to sweat like a pig. The train on the other hand was gosh awful! I am not exaggerating in the least bit here. You are smushed in a small tube with too many people and far too many people who don’t believe in personal hygiene. You better be quick when boarding and quick to sit down or have both hands free to hold on tight. I almost fell over twice! Had I fell over I’m pretty positive no one would have helped me back up or even noticed for that matter. Avoid the train if you suffer from motion sickness like myself, also be prepared to see the occasional homeless person sleeping on the train and or the occasional drunk person.

My conclusion from this trip would be that Chicago although full of amazing things to see it also has too many people and not enough trees for someone like me. One thing I know for sure now is that the city life is not for me. This girl needs trees and mountains.

-Jodie

Leave a Reply

