My Life Is Mine

This life of mine is mine. Let me make this clear! This is my life! I have recently discovered that there are quite a few people in my life that think for some reason that they have some sort of power over me, that just because they tell me to do something means I will do it.

I have given this topic a lot of thought after some recent events that have happened in my life and I found myself really upset by the fact that there are several people who think this way. I understand that they probably think they are doing what is best for me, but there’s a point where it goes from caring to irritating.

Now, I understand you can’t stop people from voicing their opinions, but do they have to voice them so loudly. My mom has this way of telling when I have reached my limit with people and has on more than one occasion told them to, “Ease up on her. The more you push the harder she will push away”. This is true. The more people tell me to do something the more I want to do the opposite.

You know, come to think of it maybe this isn’t something I have recently realized about people in my life. People in my life have always done this. The only difference now is that I don’t care what people think of me and the choices I make. After all this is my life and I am the one who has to live it and I am not making the mistake again of listening to others and doing something that results in me loosing something or someone important.

I know the things I want in my life and no amount of nagging from others will make me change my mind. Please don’t get me wrong I care for all these people deeply and I know that what they say comes from a good place, but what ever happened to supporting my happiness even if you can’t see it or I don’t show it all the time. Believe me I would not be doing anything if I didn’t get some sort of joy out of it. To quote Steve Jobs, “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary”.

-Jodie

Leave a Reply

